Tesco Wine by the case homepage

Welcome to Tesco Wine by the case.

We hope you enjoy your visit.

Sign in / Register as a new customer

Main Content Link

Burgundy wines

Burgundy de-mystified

The wine growing region of Burgundy may seem complex. Only one third the size of the other famous wine growing region, Bordeaux, it is fragmented with more than 8,000 people growing grapes. It produces hundreds of different types of wines from many different producers, making some of the world's fi nest prized wines as well as everyday drinking wines.

However it can be broken down into some simple pointers to help understand the area and the wines it produces.

Geographically the region is found centrally, on the eastern side of France. It is made up of six key areas. The heartland is the Côte d'Or ('golden slope') with the town of Beaune at its core. This region is made up of two areas, the Côte de Beaune and the Côte de Nuits. To the south of this is the Côte Chalonnaise, Mâconnais and Beaujolais. To the north of the Côte d'Or is Chablis.

Burgundy has only three main grape varieties :- Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Gamay. Gamay is only grown in the more southerly Mâconnais and Beaujolais regions.

The region has a logical and easy to understand quality league table. Find out more >

Understanding these three key factors ;the geography, the grapes and the quality league table are the keys to unlocking the Burgundy mystery.

The Six Key Areas Of Burgundy Select a region to find out more and see Tesco wines available from that region.

Burgundy wines

Search link

Wine basket

Shopping Basket
Quantity ProductPriceRemove from Basket
There are no items in your basket
  • Total savings£0.00
  • Subtotal (0 items)£0.00
  • Total Clubcard points0
View full basketCheckout