Queen's Gambit

By: Elizabeth Fremantle

Catalogue Number: 67K-J7H7

Queen's Gambit

  • Format: Paperback
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • ISBN: 9781405909389
More product information
Back to top

Buy on Tesco Direct from:

Available from Tesco Tesco

£7.99 Save £4.14

£3.85

Delivery Options

  • Delivery options will be shown at checkout (or enable JavaScript to show on this page).
seller-pdp-logo

We've carefully chosen all our Tesco Partners, to give you even more choice when you shop with us online.

  • Browse a wider range of specialist products, all in one place
  • Collect Clubcard points on every order
  • Stay protected with the Tesco Partner Guarantee – we’re here to support you when buying from an approved Tesco Partner.

Synopsis

Meet the woman who survived Henry VIII in Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit...My name is Katherine Parr. I'm 31 years old and already twice widowed. I'm in love with a man I can't have, and am about to wed a man no-one would want - for my husband-to-be is none other than Henry VIII, who has already beheaded two wives, cast aside two more, and watched one die in childbirth. What will become of me once I'm wearing his ring and become Queen of England? They say that the sharpest blades are sheathed in the softest pouches. Only time will tell what I am really made of...For fans of Hilary Mantel, Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit, is a riveting account of the Tudor queen who married four men and outlived three of them - including Henry VIII. Rich in atmosphere and period detail, and told through the eyes of Katherine and her young maid Dot, it tells the story of two very different women during a terrifying and turbulent time. If you loved Wolf Hall, The Other Boleyn Girl or the BBC drama series The Tudors, then Elizabeth Fremantle's Queen's Gambit is the book for you. Gripping . (Woman & Home). Sumptuous . (Metro). A major new voice in historical fiction . (The Bookseller). Rich and enticing . (Stylist). Electric . (Good Housekeeping). Wildly entertaining . (Huffington Post). Elizabeth Fremantle holds a first in English and an MA in creative Writing from Birkbeck. As a Fashion Editor she has contributed to various publications including Vogue, Elle, Vanity Fair and the Erotic Review and has had her fiction published in the Mechanic's Institute Review. Queen's Gambit is her first novel; her second, Sisters of Treason, will be published early in 2014.

1 1
Close overlay and continue

We value your opinion

Leave quick feedback Or Complete our survey