Tesco Clubcard Home

Catagory Navigation

Chef & Brewer pubs

Rated NaN Stars (657 Customer Reviews) | Login to write a review
Product Code: L6329

Reward Information

Chef & Brewer pubs
Choose a National Chain
Visit their website

Reward Information

Chef & Brewer pubs

Chef & Brewer are a collection of modern British country pubs that know a thing or two about great food and drink. They offer a warm and comfortable atmosphere with great quality pub dishes, served with the occasional twist.

Share:Share this on FacebookShare this on Twitter

What you get

Sometimes you know just what you want: great pub food cooked with care. Whether it's hand-battered cod & chips, the gourmet burger, or the ever-popular "Brewer's Chicken", now is the time to rediscover your old favourites. Just exchange £2.50 in Clubcard vouchers for £10 back to spend with Chef & Brewer.

The food at Chef & Brewer is rooted in traditional British cuisine and the chefs showcase a modern flair with the dishes they produce.

Chef & Brewer deliver delicious freshly-cooked food; the pubs are set apart by the passion behind them, and the pride of the teams that prepare each dish. In the main dining area every pub offers full table service, letting you sit down and relax from the moment you arrive.

How to place your order

1. Choose how much in Clubcard vouchers you’d like to exchange using the basket on the right. Any change left over from your Clubcard vouchers will be added back into your Clubcard Account.

2. We’ll aim to send you two emails within 2 hours – please note this may take longer due to additional security checks. One will be your order confirmation. The other will contain your token codes and instructions on how to use them.

3. Print the email containing your token codes and take it with you to the restaurant.

Additional information

Login to write a review

Customer Reviews & Ratings

Rated NaN Stars Based on 657 Reviews
  • Lovely meal and evening
    By ames8721 November 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    Popped in here after a day out, and used Clubcard boost for the first time! Had a lovely evening, good atmosphere, cosy pub, excellent food! I had vegetarian Jalfrezi and my partner had rump steak - both were presented well and tasted great. Desserts were also well presented and tasty! Would definitely go again, and would recommend to family and friends.

    Date used : 20/11/2015
  • Wow, what a deal
    By Robbie5029 October 2015aged 65 or over

    We used all our vouchers and go regularly to this chef & brewer. Usually have the steak which has always been good and they are very happy for us to share a desert (trust me one between two is ample) My husband is gluten free and they will give him cheese and crisps in place of biscuits too. Great staff and lovely surroundings.

    Date used : 18/10/2015
  • Great food for a pub
    By Frozzylove19 October 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    I was unexpectly impressed by the standard of the food here! The halloumi 'fish & chips' is inspired & the cheesecake sharer board is amazing - I haven't had such good cheesecake since I lived in the USA......

    Date used : 28/09/2015
  • Lovely Country Pub
    By fifinightowl01 October 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    I pre booked as I was having lunch with my mum who.has mobility issues, the staff couldn't be more helpful. Instead of taking an order at the bar which was normal procedure, they came to the table and took food and drink orders even though it was quite busy. The food was beautiful although they had run out of some of the menu items. The atmosphere was fantastic, cosy without feeling claustrophobic. I would go back but only with vouchers as it is a little pricey regularly.

    Date used : 11/09/2015
  • Very Disapointed
    By figdom29 August 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    The venue is excellent for disabled access. The staff are very supportive, polite and attentive. That said... The first time I went there, my prawns were so overcooked, they were inedible. The second time, my steak was NOT any steak I had eaten in my life - it looked like liver, was tough and the little I did attempt to CHEW, was not a taste one would want to repeat. My third and last visit, last weekend, my guests and I ordered the rib of beef roast. My guests ate theirs, but I had great difficulty cutting the roast potato skins and Yorkshire pudding, my beef was tender, but I burnt my arm as I accidently brushed against the bone. The gravy tasty, but was also waxy and very soon became gelatinous. The very polite waitress asked if I enjoyed my meal, and I expressed my thought that possibly the meal was heated in a microwave. Sadly, I did not achieve clarification of this, rather the charge for the meal was removed from the bill. Recommendations: don't order a roast after lunchtime. Preferably order the specials. Make sure the staff know if you also experience the problem I did.

    Date used : 23/08/2015
  • Great value, huge savings!!
    By cakebakercraftsmaker198828 August 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    Excellent value. Saved loads on the food bill. Easy to use and print off, only slight issue was that staff weren't used to handling the club card printoffs so took a lot of handing over to people higher up. Overall really pleased and will definitely use the offer again!!!

    Date used : 26/08/2015
  • Fantastic
    By perfectangelface25 August 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    Warm, Delightful and Very Welcoming, Great food Menu, Great Service, Great Staff and Always a Real pleasure to Visit here. Food is of Great Standard, and you can not be disappointed with this place, The vouchers are a real bonus, If you want 2 courses, then £40 is fine but if you want desert take more. We would recommend and we will be back.

    Date used : 08/08/2015
  • Easy to use.
    By KBob09 August 2015aged 35 to 44Female

    Went for Sunday lunch with family. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Using the vouchers was extremely easy. A lovely relaxed atmosphere, perfect if you're not in a hurry. Food was hot and ok. Puddings even better.

    Date used : 09/08/2015
  • Quality food
    By Rochycoo07 August 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    I've never been here before but will definitely be returning. There is loads of choice on the menu and I changed my mind about 3 times before we ordered. My meal was delicious, hot, well cooked, well presented and tasty. I had only got £20 in clubcard vouchers which would have been ok if we hadn't had dessert! Oh my god, the dessert, it was heavenly. I haven't mentioned the specific food I had because the menu changes seasonally so there's no point. Take £30 in vouchers just in case you want dessert and you believe me you will!

    Date used : 04/08/2015
  • Pleasant relaxed atmosphere
    By spikey23 July 2015aged 65 or overMale

    Went for lunch Tues 21 July.2015. Drinks were reasonably priced and a good selection of food on the menu.The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxed and all staff were very friendly.I would certainly use The White House again.

    Date used : 21/07/2015
  • Lovely meal, lovely setting
    By Cjc2317 July 2015aged 35 to 44

    We had a lovely meal in the Old Meal. The pub had a nice atmosphere. The staff were friendly. We weren't expecting such a nice meal for a chain pub.

    Location/Branch : Old Mill, Brighouse
  • Worst Risotto Ever
    By Wen5116 July 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We a party of 6 arrived and our table was not ready - still full of dirty plates etc. waited for drinks and table over ten minutes. Our starters were lovely but that's where it started to go wrong. 3 risottos not eaten , just a lump of stuck together rice. Chicken burger cold, beef and pulled pork tough and dry. The only meal that was eaten and enjoyed was the fish & chips. The pub ran out of beer so the men decided to have wine by the time it arrived at the table they had finish their meals ( which didn't take long admittedly as they left more than they ate ). The wine was not one that was on the menu but we were told it was about £10 more than the one we ordered! Not a great experience and one never to be repeated. We will be going to Weatherspoons in future.

    Date used : 25/06/2015
  • Great Sunday lunch at a rustic country pub
    By thegoonfather15 July 2015aged 45 to 54Male

    Great experience. Phoned up in advance to let the staff know that I would be using Tesco vouchers and they were more than happy to accept them. I had Sunday lunch with 7 friends so easily got through my £100's worth paying for the drinks and some food on top. The whole experience was a delight - service and humour from the staff and the food was excellent.

    Date used : 12/07/2015
  • Bit of a wait
    By Al15815 July 2015aged 55 to 64Male

    We ate late Sunday afternoon. We had booked a table but still had to wait over half an hour before being seated. The food was good, but the meals did not arrive at the same time, so some of our party had almost finished before others had started their meals. Overall good food but poor service.

    Date used : 05/07/2015
  • Great Night Out
    By EmiJane9015 July 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    The pub it's self was lovely and we had a great table. Exchanging my vouchers was lovely as it meant me and my partner got to go and eat somewhere different and had a great evening out together. Will deferentially return and exchange my vouchers for other restaurants in the future.

    Location/Branch : Ye Olde Swan
  • Lovely setting
    By lizzybeetle14 July 2015Female

    Very good meal in lovely old pub, very good food, friendly staff.

    Date used : 27/06/2015
  • Fantastic value!
    By Beats14 July 2015aged 55 to 64Male

    It's a great pub, set overlooking Hockley woods with it's huge beer garden & outside eating area which we prefer, & with these vouchers to offset your food bill then you can't go wrong. The ambiance of this pub/restaurant inside with it's beams is a must & on a hot summers day there is ample shade outside from the trees to keep you cool. Enjoy!

    Date used : 27/06/2015
  • Yummy food
    By Felixrocks14 July 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    Went with few expectations and was blown away by the food. Hubby and I have since been back once a week and I will swap ALL my Tesco vouchers to use there in future. Very reasonable prices, a great menu full of delicious bistro-style food, the steak burger topped with pulled pork is scrumptious - one of the best burgers I have ever had. Hubby more than happy with the steaks on offer. Just good cooking, served well by very pleasant staff.

    Date used : 19/06/2015
  • too slow
    By clare10113 July 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    We went down to have a meal for two last Saturday afternoon. We arrived at the pub at 1:30 pm and by the time we done the pudding it was 3:35pm. We only ordered two starters, two mains and two puddings. The food was ok, the pub was not that busy, just a very slow service. Our waitress forgot a coke from my order. The club card vouchers don't pay for drinks. Over all, if you have a lot of time and don't mind sitting around and wait, the experience would be ok. The pub is clean and welcoming enough. Just the service is too slow.

    Date used : 04/07/2015
  • Excellent
    By Gymbob13 July 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    I took my two nieces as a treat and was very happy. The service was excellent, the food was very good and the pub itself has a lovely charm. I used the e-vouchers which were easily accepted.

    Date used : 02/07/2015
  • 1st Timer
    By Michief12 July 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Our first time , staff polite and friendly, food hot and good, would go again. Children meals good value.

    Date used : 12/07/2015
  • Excellent Restaurant
    By 12 July 2015aged 55 to 64Male

    Visited Friday evening in Jun 15 (decided best to book a table). Staff friendly and service was fast and the food was up to expectations. After meal nice lounge area to sit and finish our drinks/have coffee. Happy to visit again if ever in the area.

    Date used : 26/06/2015
  • Lovely old pub
    By Pammy1111 July 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We've been to the yews 3 times now with our Tesco vouchers. The pub is full of character and the food is amazing. It has a fabulous choice of food and it's really good quality. For £10 of a Tesco vouchers you can treat yourself to £40 of delicious good.

    Date used : 11/07/2015
  • Excellent Value and Meal
    By MinnieKaren11 July 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    We had £60 in Clubcard tokens and had four main courses and desserts, all within the £60. The food was excellent and obviously value for money. Have since ordered more tokens and been back, again excellent. Can thoroughly recommend the cheesecake! X

    Date used : 05/05/2015
  • Value for money
    By Tugman11 July 2015aged 65 or overMale

    We have used the Shipley Bridge Inn on many occasions and have always experienced a warm welcome and good fare. It is our favourite venue for meeting friends and for special occasions.

    Date used : 11/07/2015
  • Lovely time had by all
    By blodyn09 July 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    Been for a birthday meal at the Maenllwyd tonight. Have been many times over the years. Booked a table for three and, spookily, turned out to be the table we have always chosen in the past, in a cosy corner (haven't been for over a year probably). The weather turned out to be beautiful this evening after a mixed day. Because of this, the Maenllwyd was extremely busy - as it is a favourite for all sorts of people...walkers, cyclists, country pub lovers etc. Even though they were inundated, the staff were really efficient and extremely friendly and attentive. The food was gorgeous, our plates were clean - unfortunately couldn't manage a dessert. A lovely evening :)

    Date used : 09/07/2015
  • Value
    By Erni09 July 2015aged 65 or overMale

    Used the venue on many occasions and have always received good food. Good value for money and would recommend the venue for all occasions.

    Date used : 28/06/2015
  • disappointing
    By CJgourmet09 July 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We have used Tesco vouchers at 3 different Chef and Brewer pubs and every meal was poor and disappointing so its not the fault of individual chefs. Thank goodness we didn't pay full price.

    Date used : 06/07/2015
  • Chef are not good chefs
    By Johnny61607 July 2015aged 65 or overMale

    You only get what they pay £or, they call them chefs, we call them cheap labour so thats what you will get, chain menus badly cooked!!!

    Date used : 07/07/2015
  • Excellent Pub Food
    By Benny99907 July 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Another excellent meal at the Red Lion, where the first class service and delicious food are the best in our area. Furthermore the food and service are the same whether we are using Tesco Vouchers or not. I thoroughly recommend the Red Lion.

    Date used : 04/07/2015
  • Great food, good service but a bit slow
    By RubyRiver05 July 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    We have visited The George on several occasions using Tesco vouchers and combining it with a lovely walk along the canal. On two separate occasions they had lost our booking but fitted us in nonetheless. We have always found the food to be very good - especially the Sunday lunch. Food is prepared to a high standard, freshly cooked and delicious. Staff are very friendly and hardworking. But please can food arrive faster? I think the record for a main course was 1 hr 15 mins which earned us all free desserts. It's worth the wait, however, as we keep coming back...

    Date used : 05/07/2015
  • Dreadful
    By Valleyandhill04 July 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    The food was terrible. The steak was inedible. They had a specials dish described as a fondue. It was like cheese sauce served with dried and tasteless cooked meat - nothing like a fondue! The manageress tried to be helpful. She was clearly embarrassed by the poor quality food served and she offered us a voucher for free mains and free drinks. We may take up this offer but this place has a poor reputation. We had low expectations and would only have gone there using vouchers.

    Date used : 20/06/2015
  • Superb as always
    By Hasketongirl04 July 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    Have visited the Red Lion regularly and it was great to use our vouchers. Always greeted with a smile and nothing is ever too much trouble. Lovely food, well presented and served by friendly staff. Would recommend this place to anyone.

    Date used : 15/06/2015
  • Good Food
    By Ticket03 July 2015aged 65 or overMale

    A very cheerful welcome, excellent service throughout our meal which was, and i must say one of the best meals that we have in many a long day.

    Date used : 02/07/2015
  • Deal was that good I did it again
    By swifty02 July 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    Excellent food and great place, we got these before and did it again they offer very good value for money and very friendly and efficient service,

    Location/Branch : The Cross keys Guisborough
  • The George Bathampton
    By jkingem02 July 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    Dissatisfied with meal but it's hard to complain when you get a meal at such a reduced price. I had the duck stir fry, far too much soya sauce so the meal looked just brown even the vegetables didn't taste like duck far too hard. The pudding I chose was Eton Mess this was a shop bought meringue with two cut up strawberries in whipped cream and really overpriced. Would not go here again.

    Date used : 16/06/2015
  • Brilliant meal and service
    By MargB01 July 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We had a great meal and good service, also made better by using our tesco vouchers. have been back and would go again.

    Date used : 21/06/2015
  • Fantastic food
    By Woodsy3801 July 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    4 of us went for a meal armed with our club card vouchers, the reason we chose that eatery. Food was more than great, way above the standard of the usual pub grub. Service was good couldn't find fault even if we tried. Definitely go again & pay next time. Already recommended to our friends.

    Date used : 20/06/2015
  • Great service and food
    By Megethkat12330 June 2015aged 65 or overMale

    Recently visited the Horse & Groom in Writtle using Tesco vouchers had no problems exchanging them and our waitress was happy to take them although I have experienced problems at other venues. Service and food was very good,will definitely return and use more vouchers.

    Date used : 13/06/2015
  • value for money
    By guckian0030 June 2015aged 35 to 44Male

    delicious food, could spend vouchers on any food, we had about £60 in vouchers and just about spent them as food was such good value. Would use vouchers for this again.

    Date used : 12/10/2014
  • Staff Belching Whilst Eating
    By prosecco129 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    Went here for our wedding anniversary as had been recommended to us. Restaurant was half empty, food was not great typical chain pub food. I had ordered a glass of prosecco and as we were eating one of the bar staff belched very loudly, she said she drunk the prosecco too quick! Would not go back here again

    Date used : 10/06/2015
  • Excellent Meal
    By Leemo29 June 2015aged 55 to 64Male

    I visited for a meal with my daughter. The meals and service were excellent, and made even better by the bill being reduced courtesy of Tesco. We will be returning.

    Date used : 16/05/2015
  • First time user
    By Istabraq29 June 2015aged 45 to 54Male

    Took my son for a meal and was a little nervous about what we could use the vouchers for and what was or wasn't included . I needn't have worried as all the food on the main menu was included and there was plenty of choice . Staff were friendly and helpfull and the food was very good . Just downloaded my second batch of vouchers now and looking forward to going again .

    Date used : 11/06/2015
  • Not Great
    By MrsPC29 June 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    The greeter was untidy with an un-tucked shirt, the food was OK although I had the roast and the potatoes seemed re-heated. It was expensive for drinks and the total bill came to over £80 for 2 adults and 2 children (only children had desserts). Our waitress was the only one who seemed enthusiastic to work and she was of Polish decent. I wouldn't go back to this place. Pleasant pub food - over priced.

    Date used : 25/05/2015
  • The Bell Tree. Dundee
    By Hazbas28 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Used my vouchers for lunch. The food was enjoyable but quite basic pub food. The member of staff who served us was very pleasant but she seemed to be the only person serving tables. We waited a bit longer than necessary for our food to be served. The premises could do with being spruced up. They are looking a bit tired. One fault which needs to be addressed is the stack of child high chairs in front of the disabled toilet.

    Date used : 26/06/2015
  • Nice meal - good value with club card boost
    By Melissa4728 June 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    We've exchanged our clubcard vouchers for chef and brewer twice now and have had really enjoyable meals with good food. The setting at Horley was nicer than Dorking as it didn't feel so rushed to get your dinner served. Without the clubcard boost I think chef and brewer would be a little on the expensive side for a pub/restaurant chain.

    Location/Branch : Horley
  • Fabulous purchase
    By 26 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    I always change my vouchers for the Chef and Brewer pub. Fantastic food, fantastic prices and fantastic staff. Never disappointed.

    Date used : 21/06/2015
  • Great Restaurant
    By Kazzza726 June 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    Great Restaurant that always have a good choice of options on their menu which they regularly change to refresh the menu. Good number of tables so don't normally struggle to get seated. Staff are friendly so can't fault this pub!

    Location/Branch : Towcester
  • enjoyable lunch
    By Sgil26 June 2015

    Had an enjoyable lunch here with Husband, Brother and Sister in law, very friendly staff and good service.

    Date used : 23/06/2015
  • Great Great Value!!
    By Haggis4224 June 2015aged 65 or overMale

    We went there as a family of 4 just recently. We were treated like royalty even though we were using vouchers. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. (My 32 year old son fell in love with our waitress, and wants to go back!!)

    Date used : 09/06/2015
  • tasty lunch
    By lauralou24 June 2015aged 35 to 44Female

    Had a midweek lunch but ordered from the main menu. Food was brilliant and plenty of it..quick service and really friendly staff.. Defo go back..

    Date used : 05/06/2015
  • Good food Nice staff
    By Junie222 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Went on a Saturday and had good service although they were very busy, no long waiting. Food was good too

    Date used : 20/06/2015
  • Good Pub Grub
    By Treasurer22 June 2015aged 65 or overMale

    Polite and helpful staff. Excellent choice of meals that were well cooked and presented An enjoyable experience.All ages should feel comfortable and welcome.

    Date used : 20/06/2015
    By nanny194822 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    I always get Tesco vouchers to used at our Chef & Brewer the food is always very good and varied.

    Date used : 31/05/2015
  • Great food and servive
    By Layney21 June 2015aged 45 to 54

    Service was great and food delicious- went on a Thursday which was very busy

    Date used : 18/06/2015
  • Sunday roast average
    By Florry20 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    The staff were pleasant and attentive, Sunday roast was very average, meat tough so we could not eat it all, we were early about 12.30 pm so the meal should have been at its best, side dish of cauliflower was disappointing just a white sauce with a little cheese sprinkled on the top, have been to this pub quite a few times so we were a little disappointed

    Date used : 31/05/2015
  • Great value, food and atmosphere
    By Chickenlicken7520 June 2015aged 35 to 44Female

    All food was thoroughly enjoyed by all in our group of 7. Friendly service and relaxed atmosphere. Using clubcard vouchers made it even better!

    Date used : 30/05/2015
  • food and sevice
    By Vitman20 June 2015aged 65 or overMale

    Table booked for 2pm Main meal arrived at 3.15.The food was mediocre Very slow service.Some of our party did say they would not go again.

    Date used : 07/06/2015
  • What a Treat!
    By Marmar6318 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    4 of us had a delicious 3 course meal, using £60 Tesco token which 'cost' me £15 in Tesco vouchers! The staff were lovely, very welcoming, the food was really nice. Well worth using your vouchers on, I would definitely do it again.

    Date used : 11/06/2015
  • Chef and brewer redeem themselves
    By Talktalk17 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    We have eaten at The Ship at Alveston a couple of times previously. 2 of the previous 3 meals can only be described as extremely poor, the third was below average. HOWEVER, we used a couple of vouchers to have lunch there last Monday. The place was virtually empty only about half a dozen diners. The starter and main course we're both very nice the sweet potatoe fries well cooked, the fish perfect. The other times we have been it has been on busy evenings at weekends, where the food looks and tastes like it has been stewing for hours or it is undercooked. We would go again but we would avoid the evenings at weekends as they seem unable to cope. A quiet lunch time mid week was very good service and well cooked food.

    Date used : 15/06/2015
  • Family friendly, food okay, lovely outdoor seating
    By AfroMumof515 June 2015aged 35 to 44Female

    Lovely setting and family friendly as i had all 5 kids with me however service was slow and I think there is scope to improve their sauces (tartar and barbecue)

    Location/Branch : East Grinstead
  • An excellent choice
    By Kathie15 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Great food, great service great atmosphere. An altogether enjoyable experience. Will be going back. Definitely one I would recommend.

    Date used : 13/06/2015
  • Excellent Food
    By mdf11a15 June 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    This was our first visit and we were very impressed, the food was excellent and well presented, the menu is very good and I found it difficult to choose, we went on a Sunday so had the added option of Sunday Roast, which I plumped for, nearly as good as mine !!!!! They did get a bit busy while we were there and the service suffered abit but this can happen, will definitely visit again.

    Date used : 14/06/2015
  • Ask for full bill
    By Jasjod13 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    Lovely meal and service, paid at bar to use vouchers and asked for receipt when I got home I noticed 2 drinks had been added that we didn't have, so lesson learnt to always ask for full listed bill before paying !

    Date used : 06/06/2015
  • Fox & Hounds
    By Coiln13 June 2015aged 65 or overMale

    We have been using our Tesco vouchers at this Pub for a few years now, and apart from the odd glitch, ( which happens at the best of places) we have found both food and staff service excellent. I/We would certainly recommend

    Date used : 24/05/2015
  • Amazing.
    By Jane211 June 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We had American friends come and stay which was their first visit to England. Our lady friend is Celiac which means Gluten free. She was blown away with a special 2 course menu specially devised for this condition and just loved the Fish and Chips as she cannot normally have that. She couldn't stop raving over it. Well done to all the staff for making their visit a really lovely one and in a typical English Pub and all this with Clubcard vouchers too. Our grateful thanks to all.

    Date used : 11/06/2015
  • Struggled with the vouchers
    By cthomp10 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    Having eaten our perfectly nice meal, we had a problem when we came to hand over our vouchers. The waitress took the codes but came back to tell us that one of the codes had been used already (definitely had not!!). We ended up paying the £10 and taking her name. When I got home I received an email from clubcard, giving me my last remaining voucher code - waitress had obviously missed that code out completely and had tried to input the other one twice. I phoned the pub and was told to pop in with a copy of the email and when I did they gave me my £10 back. So all in all nice enough food, friendly staff and helpful service.

    Date used : 01/06/2015
  • Good food and service at a reasonable price
    By leamingtonvisitor10 June 2015

    Went recently with another couple and their children. It was our second visit and was just as positive an experience. The staff were extremely pleasant and efficient and seemed genuinely pleased to serve you. The food is basic and plentiful and good value, especially with the grossed up value of the tesco vouchers. At no point did it appear to alter the attitude of the team at the chef and brewer that we were presenting vouchers for part of the purchase price.

    Date used : 26/05/2015
  • Chef & Brewer - Ye Olde Swan
    By Borrello10 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    This was our first time to this pub/restaurant. There was lots to choose from on the menu, the food and service was excellent and we will definitely be going again.

    Date used : 17/05/2015
  • Fantastic use for our vouchers
    By adevs09 June 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We're a party of seven, three children under 5 years old and four adults. We were made very welcome, seated and served quickly. There is a vast selection of meals on the menu to suit everyone, we had plenty of time to finish each course-which was freshly cooked and very tasty. The staff are friendly and the service was excellent.

    Date used : 19/05/2015
  • Great Menu
    By Cossie09 June 2015aged 35 to 44Male

    The menu was very extensive and the food was great, a good night out.

    Date used : 09/06/2015
  • A good buy
    By Melaniej5309 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    I often exchange for chef n brewer tokens as a good choice of venues. Went for a spot of lunch. So much more economical having the vouchers. The staff friendly and very helpful. The food good and service good.

    Date used : 08/06/2015
  • Excellent meal
    By Margy07 June 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We have never eaten in this particular pub before- or indeed in this particular chain, but were very impressed. We had a starter each, a main course and could only manage to share a dessert as we were too full, and even with a pint of shandy, the bill came to less than £40. With £30 of Tesco vouchers we paid less than £10 for the meal, but to be honest the vouchers were a bonus and even if we hadn't had them, we would have felt it was good value. The pub had a rather eclectic feel to it with mismatched furniture, but had a lovely atmosphere and is obviously very popular with both locals and visitors. The quality of the food was excellent as were all the staff. The only niggle I could possibly have was that the service was a little slow with quite a wait for our starters then between each course- but it was Saturday, the pub was very busy and for us it was fine as we were were in no hurry. A very enjoyable evening- we will return!.

    Date used : 06/06/2015
  • Brilliant way to use vouchers
    By lt5807 June 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We had a lovely meal in lovely surroundings. Food and service first class - will be visiting a Chef and Brewer again soon and what better way to have a great meal at such a reasonable cost.

    Date used : 17/05/2015
  • Fantastic pub
    By TheHalfling07 June 2015aged 35 to 44Male

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and accommodating to my young family. The service was very good and the food was very tasty. Would definitely recommend.

    Date used : 30/05/2015
  • Comment
    By Fanny06 June 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We have eaten at the Rose and Crown on several occasions and have received excellent service and food. The pub is old and attractive, and in a nice spot. We have tried the Ship at Thornbury at couple of times, but did not receive good service. Completely different from the Rose and Crown. W

    Date used : 05/06/2015
  • Great Food
    By SueLR06 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    Good Food, Nice environment, Great menu. No problem using the vouchers which made it great value for money. The only negative problem was the long wait which was unacceptable.

    Date used : 15/05/1964
  • Lovely location
    By crisam06 June 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    It was a lovely meal, excellent staff and the pub is so beautiful. It makes you feel like you are in a very posh pub but without the silly too expensive prices. My husband had steak and he said it was great. We definitely would recommend it and we WANT TO COME BACK!!

    Date used : 15/05/2015
  • Chef and Brewer consistantly good food and value
    By Tweedie05 June 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    Excellent venue, staff great and food wonderful. why not go and use your tesco vouchers. we hope this offer continues to run!

    Date used : 24/05/2015
  • Great day out.
    By BulldogBrit05 June 2015aged 55 to 64Male

    Great day out. We used our vouchers at the Lone Barn / Fox & Hounds at Burseldon Hampshire. The vouchers were used to take my wife and grown up children to lunch for my 60th birthday. Everything went well and paying was just like using cash, could not be easier. Tesco clubcard vouchers are a great idea so Lidal / Aldi, forget it. As for the Lone Barn..... Should you be visiting the Southampton area I would strongly advise you visit this fantastic country pub. The food is great and the location could not be better. As the name suggests its an old converted barn that was "brick by brick" relocated from Alton, another area of Hampshire. The Lone Barn was where me and my lovely wife had our first date and they even put out the table we sat at and reserved it for us for our anniversary. One cannot get better than that. Well done Tesco and well done Chef & Brewer.

    Date used : 17/05/2015
  • Great value
    By easyshopper04 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Great menu choice, great food, lovely atmosphere, staff attentive. Excellent value with clubcard vouchers.

    Date used : 19/05/2015
  • Excellent value for coupons.
    By Sutty04 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    We have enjoyed many meals at this lovely pub - both with and without vouchers The menu is very varied and suits all ages. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I have always exchanged my tokens for Chef and Brewer vouchers.

    Date used : 21/06/2015
  • Good value, nice atmosphere, friendly staff.
    By frednwilma03 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Used clubcard points for vouchers to take family of 8 out for birthday meal. The Jovial Sailor is a large establishment, but despite it being very busy on a saturday evening, service was made in good time, the staff were efficient and courteous, the food was good, albeit the puddings were a bit on the small side for the price, but overall we enjoyed the meal in a pleasant atmosphere. I would go there again (especially on Tesco vouchers!) It made it really affordable. I would recommend this Chef and Brewer.

    Date used : 23/05/2015
  • Overall good experience
    By davep5003 June 2015aged 45 to 54Male

    We purchased the vouchers as we were visiting the area. We had booked Sunday lunch for 4. It was very busy, despite this staff were helpful. Unfortunately our orders got mixed up twice, then 2 of us had our orders and 2 didn't for at least 5 minutes. The staff were very apologetic and the food was a good quality. However, I think their organisational skills need to be reviewed! That said, it was was easy to use the vouchers and we saved money on nice food. Overall a good experience.

    Date used : 17/05/2015
  • Voucher
    By Candyfloss02 June 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    2nd time I have visited this reastraunt and I was disappointed the 2nd time! Not with the food as it was very nice but with the waitress and vouchers! They could not use some of my vouchers as the waitress said it did not allow all of them to go through so I had to pay some of the bill in which took the shine out of the meal. I complained to tesco and they were helpful and said that the chef and brewer had taken all of the vouchers! I'm still waiting for an explanation from chef and brewer!

    Date used : 15/05/2015
  • Lovely evening
    By Juddles02 June 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    We actually visited on two subsequent evenings and both times we had a lovely meal, the service was excellent, booking the tables were easy and speedily done, the waitress were very helpful, especially as we had a 2 year old with us, they brought her crayons and paper and a high chair and nothing was too much trouble for them. We shall certainly visit again.

    Date used : 10/05/2015
  • Will not return to The George, Earley
    By KtandTim01 June 2015aged 25 to 34Female

    Worst experience ever. Been going for years but the service and food quality has been declining for a while, this was the last straw. Won't go in to too much detail as you can make your own minds up if you go there but the food was sloppy and tasteless and the staff were awful when we expressed our dislike. I'll not be returning.

    Location/Branch : The George, Earley
  • good value food report
    By droister01 June 2015aged 65 or overMale

    this refurbished location is now very pleasant. food for four of us was good and the staff were helpful. excellent value when using the tesco reward vouchers.

    Date used : 22/05/2015
  • best value
    By popey31 May 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    Tesco club card makes eating out affordable ,you can even pay for all the family . The service is very good ,so is the food and the staff are second to none and cant do enough to help.

    Date used : 29/05/2015
  • Good value
    By Beretta31 May 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    Visited my local Chef And Brewer which to say the least is desperately in need of makeover. The tables are in need of being refurbished as in places they are down to bare wood ! We asked for a jug of water and some glasses, when the glasses arrived they had been round the dishwasher so MANY times they were frosted and totally disgusting, they should NEVER have been given to customers. HOWEVER on the positive side we could not find fault in the service, the food or wine all were really good. I just hope they clean this very popular Chef and Brewer up soon which is local to us.

    Date used : 15/05/2015
  • Much improved
    By Coconutgal30 May 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    Have used this pub for some time and the food and service had changed a little while ago as the pub tried to go up market (it didn't work). They have reverted back to their old menu and the it is much improved although you do wait for quite a long time to be served as they operate at a minimum staff level.

    Date used : 10/05/2015
  • Chef & Brewer Hinderton Arms
    By 30 May 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Excellent service from both Tesco and Hinderton Arms. Tokens very easy to acquire. System very speedy was able to receive tokens the same day as booking. Very good food, menu to suit all. Staff very helpful, would recommend to friends and family.

    Date used : 07/05/2015
  • Step Back in Time
    By Appraiser29 May 2015aged 55 to 64Male

    It has been many years since we have been to this location for a meal. When my wife and I arrived we were met by a VERY clean entrance and lovely décor. My wife is Disabled and I am recovering from a lung transplant, so we sat at the nearest table to the door. Siobhan came over to our table and greeted us warmly. She gave us advise on the Daily Specials and the Limited Edition Menu. The FOOD was EXCELLENT. Delivered to our table HOT, with all the normal condiments. Specialist Beers on offer, as well as the normal brands. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PUB TO ANYONE FOR ANY OCCASION. It will now become our regular restaurant.

    Date used : 28/05/2015
  • Good food in a pleasant location
    By Grumpier28 May 2015aged 65 or overMale

    Extremely friendly and efficient staff despite being very busy serving better food than may be expected from a chain of pub restaurants.

    Date used : 13/05/2015
  • Very good experience
    By Lovetotravel28 May 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    Used these vouchers for a celebration family meal and the whole experience was excellent. On ordering, receipt of tokens was instant, and booking a table was easy and problem free. On arrival our table was ready and all staff involved were exceptionally helpful and pleasant throughout the evening. There was a good choice of food to suit all members of the party and the quality was excellent and exceeded my expectations. I normally use club card vouchers for hotel breaks, which is a much more cumbersome and time consuming process. An excellent overall experience with Chef and Brewer which I would certainly use again.

    Date used : 26/05/2015
  • Great for a cheap night out
    By alwaysworking26 May 2015aged 45 to 54Female

    We went out for a family meal 8 in party so had £10 worth of vouchers each. Had some good food which was a good value meal. Would recommend it to anyone.

    Date used : 05/05/2015
  • Horse and groom
    By PeterG24 May 2015aged 55 to 64Male

    A wonderful location . Great service. Great staff. Great food. What more can I say!

    Date used : 21/05/2015
  • always friendly and excellent
    By Jaysee22 May 2015aged 65 or overMale

    Have been to several of Chef and Brewer pubs many times - the staff are always friendly and helpful, the menu is regularly changed, the meal is always excellent as their customer service - my teenage children think that Chef and Brewer are simply the best

    Date used : 02/05/2015
  • Great food
    By Lizzie1235222 May 2015aged 55 to 64Female

    We called for lunch and enjoyed it so much I booked for an evening meal. Cannot fault the friendliness of the staff, the food was superb and no problems paying in part with my Tesco vouchers. The only reason for 4 stars and not 5 is that the tables are a bit too close.

    Date used : 09/05/2015
  • Chef and brewer
    By Womble22 May 2015aged 65 or overFemale

    The service was very good , food was excellent. Lovely surroundings, staff were friendly and polite. I have been there twice now and would reccomend it to anyone.

    Date used : 01/05/2015

Add to basket

Exchange:£2.50 in Clubcard vouchers

Receive:£10 worth of Clubcard tokens

Important info

• Chef & Brewer token codes cannot be used with any other Chef and Brewer discount voucher or voucher code, or used with the Gourmet Society card.

• Maximum of 8 guests per party.

• Token codes can be used as full or part payment for food only.

Full Terms & Conditions apply.

Terms & Conditions

• Chef & Brewer pubs token codes can be used as full or part payment for food only. You can top them up with cash but no change is given from token codes.

• Chef & Brewer token codes cannot be used for a tip.

• Chef & Brewer token codes cannot be used with any other Chef and Brewer discount voucher or voucher code, or used with the Gourmet Society card. They cannot be used to pay for drinks, gift cards or merchandise.

• Maximum of 8 guests per party.

• Token codes are not transferable.

• Clubcard vouchers are not accepted by suppliers; you must exchange them for Chef & Brewer token codes.

• Token codes are valid for 6 months after issue. You do not have to use all your token codes in one transaction.

• Unused, expired and redeemed token codes cannot be refunded, exchanged or returned. This does not affect your statutory rights.