Tesco Clubcard Home

Catagory Navigation

Virgin Atlantic Flying Club

Rated 4 Stars (34 Customer Reviews) | Login to write a review
Product Code: P0700

Reward Information

Virgin Atlantic Flying Club miles
Location:
International
Website:
Visit their website

Reward Information

Virgin Atlantic Flying Club

Build up your miles with Virgin Atlantic Flying Club every time you shop. See where your Clubcard vouchers can take you.

SpecialOffer
Share:Share this on FacebookShare this on Twitter

What you get

Make your vouchers go further with Virgin Atlantic Flying Club special offer: From 28th July to 5th September 2014, for every £2.50 of Clubcard vouchers you exchange, you get 625 Virgin Atlantic Flying Club miles + 20% bonus miles. If you decide to opt-in during this time, you will get extra 1,000 bonus miles.

As a member of Flying Club you get treated in style and with the comfort you deserve, and get exclusive Flying Club benefits to make the whole experience that much more memorable. You can use your miles for reward flights to one of Virgin Atlantic's fantastic destinations around the world, upgrades and much more.

Or you could combine your miles with money and book great value Miles Plus Money fares to see the world for less. You can also earn more miles with their global network of airlines, hotels, car rental and shopping partners so you can reach that reward flight even quicker.

Please note: only valid Clubcard vouchers (printed with the name of the Clubcard holder) making the booking, and that matches with name showing on the Clubcard Statement mailings and entitled ‘voucher') can be exchanged into Flying Club miles. Bookings can only be made by the Clubcard member. Vouchers may be pooled but only by members with accounts registered with Clubcard at the same postal address. Vouchers must be in date and not sold, damaged, defaced, copied, altered or redeemed.

How to place your order

1. Choose how much in Clubcard vouchers you’d like to exchange using the basket on the right. Any change left over from your Clubcard vouchers will be added back into your Clubcard Account.

2. The Flying Club miles will be added to your Flying Club account within 28 days.

Note: You can automatically convert your Clubcard Points into Flying Club miles by signing up to your "My Clubcard Account" and ticking the "opt in" box within the "My Preferences" page.

Additional information

For more information about using your boost tokens with Virgin Atlantic Flying Club miles, download this additional information about Virgin Atlantic Flying Club miles (download PDF file *) .
Visit their website.

* To view this file, you will need to download Adobe Reader.

Login to write a review

Customer Reviews & Ratings

Rated 4 Stars Based on 34 Reviews
  • There are no 'free' flights!
    By jasee02 July 2014aged 65 or overMale

    Airmiles give you a way of paying for some of your flight. However the duty and other airport charges still have to be paid. These can amount to half or more of the price of the cheapest flight. Also the reductions they offer are not on the cheapest flights and not all flights are reduced. You can only pick from a restricted number of flights. So you can end up 'paying' thousands of air miles for a flight which is almost as expensive as the cheapest flights! Air miles can also be used to 'upgrade' your flight to a higher class but personally, I like to spend my money at my destination not on the flight, so I always travel economy. Other airline flight clubs do allow you totally free flights. Very, very occasionally Virgin has also done this.

  • Great reward but plan well in advance!
    By NicLiz09 May 2014aged 35 to 44Female

    My husband and I convert all our Clubcard points to Virgin Miles and it took us about two years (with some additional points saved from actual Virgin flights) to get to where we wanted to be... I agree that if you want to make the most of your points, fully point funded 'Reward' flights are your best option. Depends what class you fly in, but we managed to save enough for return Upper Class flights to Orlando (100,000 points each), plus taxes at £500 each. Upper is very difficult to book as there are really limited numbers of 'Rewards' flights available on each trip, so getting the dates you want can be a mare, but booking is really easy once you've got enough points and found flights. Be prepared to have enough points ready at least 8 months before travel!!! However, if you are flying Economy or Premium you need significantly less points and their are more seats available each flight... A great reward if you have the planning and the patience :-)

    Date used : 01/10/2013
  • Plan well in advance
    By SavvyTraveller27 March 2014aged 45 to 54Male

    We managed to get two upper class tickets to Tokyo for August 2014. But it took us a lot of planning - starting almost a year before. I had some VA miles from previous trips on Virgin and these were about to expire (about 50000). So we looked in summer 2013 at what we could do. Answer not much The money plus miles fares really weren't great - no real saving against published fares; and it seemed like the companion flights, where you buy one full price and use your miles for one "free", added up to only marginal savings. However, the best value for money seemed to be un upper class where it looked like for 50,000 miles each you could get a trip to the US East Coast for about £500. So you pay the same as in Economy but for a very different experience. However, my wife is a teacher and looking for Upper Class fares that suit school holidays was a nightmare. In the end we had to broaden our search - and found that we could do the Tokyo trip! We then converted our Clubcard points to make up the difference (UC to Tokyo is 100,000). [Fortunately, we had loads saved]. We waited until the extra 30% offer was on and checked availability before we pressed the go button. The vouchers were turned into points overnight (remarkable! Thanks) and we were able to book the next day using the 200,000 air miles plus about £500 each in taxes. For us, this was a good deal - a long haul UC fare for a similar price to economy (in £ terms) plus using our vouchers and existing air miles. The same cash fare was about £3000 each! So in summary, we are able to use our Tesco vouchers to get a cabin upgrade and feel like all those weekly trips to the supermarket are being rewarded with something special. But, it took a lot of planning and a degree of risk (but mainly because of our severely limited times when we could travel). I really didn't fancy having 200,000 air miles being unused. We're thinking about doing the same again in the future - saving our vouchers for a very big spend and not using them on pizzas etc.

    Date used : 01/02/2014
  • Savings
    By Jay0108 March 2014aged 45 to 54Female

    Hi, I convert all my points to air miles automatically and 5 months ago booked a flight to Jamaica. I saved £717 off the price of flight only having to paying taxes. I go to Jamaica every 2 years which gives me time to save the miles and book my flight. I even up graded my seating too. I now have enough miles for my next flight to Jamaica in 2016 and hopefully will be able to up grade to first class next time Down side is on some flights there are limited number of miles only seats available and often you have to book as least 6 months in advance to be guaranteed dates you want. Could not find any flights for my daughter during the school summer holidays on a miles only basis Virgin air miles sometimes provide you with what you need when you need it, but that's life sometimes.

    Date used : 08/03/2014
  • this is why they are called miles
    By eeny23 Febuary 2014aged 35 to 44Male

    To the reviewer complaing about them being called "Airmiles" and the redemption rate of them: They are called "Miles" because you earn approximately 1 mile for each mile FLOWN (plus class of travel bonuses etc) not because 1 mile is redeemed for 1 mile of travel. They are a way to reward frequent fliers with free flights and upgrades etc. If 1 mile earned could be redeemed for 1 mile to be travelled it would be equivalent to a buy one get one free offer from Virgin Atlantic. The clubcard deal is an excellent way to top up your frequent flier miles with Virgin and earn those free flights and upgrades much faster than before. Be aware that not all ticket tyoes are upgradable, and it is very hard to work out which fare bucket a quoted fare is in before purchase. If you are intending to use miles for an upgrade I would suggest contacting reservations before booking.

    Date used : 23/02/2014
  • This Works fine
    By MikeM23 Febuary 2014aged 65 or overMale

    If you read the information on the Virgin site all is made crystal clear so there should be no confusion. Upgrades are a great idea and I have now upgraded from Premium Economy to Upper Class on two occasions. You are still going to spend a lot of money for two tickets but what you get back is quite substantial. If you think you can fly half way round the world for a few Club card vouchers think again. It is just not feasible. Do your research and the result is "rewarding" I think it is brilliant. Well done Tesco!

    Date used : 09/09/2013
  • Terrible
    By Zack23 Febuary 2014aged 25 to 34

    Member of the flyers club but they continue to remove key destinations and there are special terms around codeshare flights. Honestly, save your points for something else - don't waste them with virgin!

  • A few words of caution
    By Everhopeful02 Febuary 2014aged 45 to 54Female

    Before you get excited and cash in all your vouchers for that longed-for trans-atlantic flight, it pays to ring Virgin to check how the air 'miles' work and also flight availability... not just whether flights are actually available on your chosen dates, which is easy to do via their website, but that REWARD flights are available, as the two are different. Also check what reward flights are available, as there are different types. After spending an hour yesterday checking the details and how the scheme works, we decided to test the system by cashing in one £4 Clubcard voucher for miles. The first good thing was that when we checked this morning, the miles were already in our Virgin account. Fantastic, especially as it can take up to 28 days, according to Clubcard! We then rang Virgin (Flying Club helpline: 0844 412 2414) to enquire about flights to Orlando in July, hoping to use the miles as part payment. We were really happy to learn that there was 'good availability' for reward flights on our chosen dates; so far, so good. Then came the disappointments. As this is our first experience with air miles, perhaps we were somewhat naive (hence the decision to test the system). We assumed that 'air miles' equated to the distance travelled; not so. It seems to be more like a points system; to achieve flights on the 'one way' idea mentioned by MRTH (see review below), it normally costs 21,000 air 'miles' per person... for a 4000 mile flight. Despite the time my husband and I had spent looking at the Clubcard and Virgin websites, neither of us had picked up on this fairly crucial fact. In any event, that option wasn't open to us as no rewards of that nature had 'been released' for our chosen dates. The 'reward flights' available allowed us to use a maximum of 2000 air 'miles' per person, which gave a '20% discount', 'reducing' the fare to £852 per person. I had previously checked the Virgin flights on that day and could fly for £895 per person. Is it my maths or is that less than 20%? (We could also have bought the same flights last week for £802 per person in the Virgin January sale...) So, from our experience, be aware that a 'mile' isn't a mile, there are caps on the amount of air 'miles' you can use depending on where you go and the flight class you select, and that the fares offered might not be the cheapest available (although, to be fair, there is a price guarantee scheme mentioned on the Flying Club website... just check the small print carefully as EVERYTHING has to be the same). The bottom line is, check before you convert; if you are happy with what is on offer, go for it, as it will work for some but not for others (although there is no guarantee the flights you want will be available after conversion...). If you are happy to take a bit of a gamble and are not committed to certain dates or destinations, it could be a great scheme, and one we might try in the future... but it doesn't seem to be particularly helpful for our upcoming trip. Ah well.

    Date used : 31/01/2014
  • Very good as long as you read all the details
    By KS2228 January 2014aged 25 to 34Male

    Ok so to conclude the positive and negative reviews on here I will give you my thoughts as I have just saved for 2 years, converted to virgin miles and used them on flights to the USA for my honeymoon. To use miles to upgrade a cabin class you must first make sure that your original ticket is upgradeable, (each cabin class has several ticket types and you must have a ticket type that is valid for upgrade, for example the cheapest tickets aren't usually upgradable) all the information is on the website and its easy to access and understand. You must also be aware that even if you have an upgradeable ticket type you cant always get the upgrade on the date you wish too.. I believe only a few seats per plane are set aside for virgin miles upgrades. The plus side is that you can see which dates have seats and which don't all before paying out a penny. You can check upgrade availability on the website before spending your miles. If you wish to use miles to pay out right for a ticket or part payment of a ticket, you also need to check the dates/seats are available for use with air miles. You may need to be flexible with your dates or get in there early.. In my opinion virgin airmiles are a great way saving money and getting upgrades you may others never be able to experience. You just must be aware of how it works, not all dates will be available, not all upgrades will be available especially in peak times.. but if you do your research and get all the information I believe its a great opportunity.

  • Fantastic Deals
    By 27 January 2014aged 35 to 44Female

    I am sooooo pleased with Virgin Flying Club and Tesco points....i want to tell everyone just how easy it is!!! This is the first time i have booked with points. i converted my Tesco points to virgin flying miles then bought additional points to pay for flights. it was so easy and every agent i poke with on the phone were extremely efficient and gave me the same information even though i had called in 4-5times. i couldn't believe how great the offer was so i kept checking. Finally booked and bought everything with one phone call. So simple. Have told my whole family to save Tesco points then purchse tickets with flying miles. very pleased thank u!!

    Date used : 27/01/2014
  • Almost impossible to use
    By Notboby25 January 2014aged 35 to 44Male

    If you have children and therefore have to travel within peak times you can forget about flying upper class. They simply don't release the flights. If you're really flexible you may get lower class flights. Don't think you just save the miles and fly they release a very small percentage of flights for the scheme. Such a shame for such a great Airline.

    Date used : 24/01/2014
  • One way tickets are great value
    By MRTH23 December 2013aged 35 to 44Male

    We use our tesco points to convert to virgin miles and use the miles to book one way flights to get back from or too our transatlantic cruises and our last one cost 21,500 miles & £80 each for an economy ticket, to buy a one way ticket from London to Florida is about £900 each! It defiantly makes booking one way flights cheaper so very happy!

    Date used : 01/12/2013
  • Great For Flying in a Higher Class
    By Carlos6812 December 2013aged 45 to 54Male

    Tesco vouchers contributed in enabling us to fly Upper Class for the first time this year to Dubai. A fabulous experience which we will repeat again in the future. My advice to the previous reviewer and any future converters is to save up and use the points to fly upper class rather than economy. There is no financial benefit at all in booking economy tickets with Virgin points. Using points to purchase upper class tickets or paying for economy tickets then using points to upgrade gives you the best return.

    Date used : 12/12/2013
  • dont be fooled, you not getting much, do the maths
    By steve1983326 November 2013aged 25 to 34Male

    After doing the math.. virgin are not really doing great deals...for example, I priced up a return flight including flights to mexico cancun in january on a comparison website, the best I fount was £411 return for dates I wanted, after going through virgin they wanted 45k miles and £277 in taxes, well u must think thats a £134 saving, great!! Well infact to get 45k miles in virgin, I exchanged over £150 in tesco vouchers... so in theory im £16 worse off and not too pleased, that said... ive heard every deal is different.. the TAXES spoil it

    Date used : 11/11/2013
  • Research required but great saving available
    By trignflo10 November 2013aged 35 to 44Male

    It can be difficult to find flights on-line, but virgin flying club helpline excellent in helping you out. I just four premium economy tickets to USA returning via different US airport (at my choice) during school holidays for around 25% of the cost of cash purchase. Plus much better refund policy where if you have to cancel you get all your miles back.

    Date used : 10/11/2013
  • Excellent Value
    By JRUS01 November 2013aged 45 to 54Male

    Got 2 free Upper Class flight to New York (had to pay the tax obviously). You have to be flexible with when you want to travel and see what is available. Amazing value.

    Date used : 07/09/2013
  • Be sensible - research first
    By TheAviator31 October 2013aged 45 to 54Male

    All of those of you who buy a ticket on Virgin's website and then expect to upgrade it afterwards - airlines across the board, BA for one don't work that way. Virgin gives you the chance when booking to use a mix of money and miles or just miles. If you don't use them at the point of booking, upgrades are almost impossible because of the different times to departure premiums and fare structures airlines use - if they didn't they would go out of business. SAVE your miles for when you need them, book at the time with your miles and be flexible as to dates to make the most of them. All frequent flyers schemes work in the same way more or less and Virgins is one of the easier and more generous ones.

  • Great when you know what you are doing!
    By RandomD28 October 2013aged 25 to 34Male

    Don't be put off by all the negative "not an upgradable ticket" comments below. If you actually take the time to read all the information on the Virgin Flying Club pages before trying to book it clearly states which ticket classes can and cannot be upgraded. Non-upgradable fare classes are the norm on any airline. Wait for the bonus miles promotions and also wait for the Reward Seat sales which Virgin Atlantic do every so often for better value for money. Fares as low as 25,000 miles and £240 Taxes. Great value for a quick trip accross the pond. Better value can sometimes be had using miles to Upgrade (providing you have checked and booked the right fare class!)

  • UPPER CLASS ALL THE WAY ON VIRGIN ATLANTIC
    By GOFORIT18 October 2013aged 65 or overMale

    Having a Tesco Credit Card as well as a Clubcard you will be happy with and the speed your points multiply up. We now have enough to go to New York and back in Upper Class on Virgin Atlantic. You have to pay the normal economy fare plus Air Miles, It still work cheap for Upper Class.

    Date used : 18/10/2013
  • 30% extra
    By Scotkat5701 October 2013aged 55 to 64Female

    When I changed my club card vouchers into Flying Club miles the extra 30% extra miles was added to my account at the same time. Hope this helps.

  • yc888
    By avidtraveller01 October 2013aged 45 to 54Female

    just exchanged clubcard points to v miles and they add the additional miles on, in addition to the 625 for £2.50, Also they said it would be 28 days but happened in less than 28 hours!! just hope Virgin are as efficient Hope this helps

    Date used : 01/10/2013
  • Great! If you can find a flight.....
    By lemonlemon01 October 2013aged 35 to 44Male

    Beware. As stated previously in other reviews using the Virgin air miles is easier said than done. I tried upgrading a seat from economy to premium and was told my economy seat was 'NOT' upgradeable despite me paying for the seat on Virgins own website without any mention of this beforehand or during booking. I then had to pay to upgrade my economy seat to upgradeable economy so I could use the vouchers :( Quite frankly, it seems like a better bet using the vouchers elsewhere as this scheme is just not transparent enough. If you are tempted i would strongly urge you to call virgin first with some travel dates to see if there is anything available because from research I have found these seats to be very difficult to find

    Date used : 22/09/2013
  • Agree with RodgerA
    By Scotkat5725 September 2013aged 55 to 64Female

    Having read previous reviews about Virgin Flying Club and the great deals to upgrade flights we converted our Tesco vouchers and changed our credit card to Virgin Atlantic to build up miles. Alas it's not as simple as having enough miles to secure an upgrade. We booked a Virgin holiday to Las Vegas and wasn't told that the class of flight with the holiday was H class and one that couldn't be upgraded!! After many live chats with both Virgin Holidays & Flying Club it seems that there are only so many seats available for upgrade both with the holiday company and the Flying club and your seat has to be within the designated class. Maybe better just booking a flight but check first to see if the Flying Club has seats!! Been a learning curve and will have to use our miles for Virgin Holiday Vouchers instead of the upgrade on our return flight home that we had hoped for.

    Date used : 25/09/2013
  • Virgin Air Miles becoming useless?
    By RogerA24 September 2013aged 65 or overMale

    We have previously used air miles to upgrade Virgin flights on a number of occasions. Just booked a trip to the Caribbean in January and Virgin say there are no upgrades available using air miles for the whole of January, February and March. After completing our booking, I see Virgin now have a 'bid for an upgrade scheme', is this why no air miles upgrades are available? With reward flights and upgrades in short supply, Tesco vouchers are better value.

    Date used : 24/09/2013
  • what a great deal
    By Pezza16 September 2013aged 45 to 54Male

    I had been saving up my virgin miles for a couple of years now and most of the miles are purchased through Tesco Clubcard,especially when they have there 50% extra free offer. I have recently booked 4 x upper class return seats to Los Angeles. Having paid the taxes ,all in all i reckon to have saved over 10000£ over the cost of purchasing the flights using money. Me and the family are so excited to be able to fly in upper class. Thank you Tesco, one of the best clubcard deals you have ever had. Now saving up for the next trip,hopefully to South Africa.

    Date used : 16/09/2013
  • Happiness
    By JonesyRA15 September 2013aged 25 to 34Male

    Thanks Virgin for offering 30% extra flying club miles. I will this quarter convert to Virgin instead of BA. Looking forward to over 13,000 miles. Already redeemed this Summer for an Upper Class free seat to Johannesburg!

  • Excellent way to use your points
    By TheAviator06 September 2013aged 45 to 54Male

    There may only be two of us but in the space of year we had enough points to get two of us an upgrade from economy to premium economy and still some left over. Looking forward to our trip to San Francisco!

    Date used : 06/09/2013
  • Best Clubcard Deal EVER!!
    By Bablefish25 July 2013aged 35 to 44Female

    We cashed in a heap of clubcard rewards when Virgin has their offer on for 925 miles.. we managed to secure two Upper Class seats to Mexico! Fantastic!! Cant believe people redeem in store.. starting to save again now ready for the next deal! Thanks Tesco!

    Date used : 10/06/2013
  • wow
    By normie28 June 2013aged 55 to 64Male

    What a great way to use your clubcard vouchers, my family and i are on our way to los angeles using my virgin miles,some of which i purchased when a deal was on giving me extra miles, I cant believe my eyes when i see customers in store using clubcard vouchers to pay there shopping bill, well done tesco, need to know when next deal with virgin is coming, i have lots more vouchers to exchange. East Sussex Family

    Date used : 01/07/2013
  • .virgin Atlantic air miles
    By JanP23 June 2013aged 65 or overFemale

    Very pleased with Tesco - ordered miles one day and they were in my VA acc. next day. Disappointed with VA. Past years I have used miles to upgrade from PE to UC on the Cape Town route Feb/March and would have purchased my ticket by now. This year VA have offered none of these upgrades. I do hope they are not withdrawing this very good service.

    Date used : 23/06/2013
  • Sshhh....don't tell everyone...!
    By babygobo17 May 2013aged 45 to 54Female

    Now, this is between you and me - this is the BEST use of Clubcard points....ever! Seriously, we only ever fly in Virgin Upper Class now...and that's an fabulous experience that everyone should do once in their life. Thank you Tesco.

  • Great deal
    By Harvey12 May 2013aged 25 to 34Female

    I recently exchanged my points to virgin miles, when they had the special offer for 2.50 - 950 miles plus we claimed our miles back when we flew to LA recently! We now have about £20,000 miles and I've only converted £60 worth of tesco points. If you get 25,000 miles you can upgrade to first class on a flight home or too New York. This upgrade would normally cost approx £4,000 so it's a treat you would never pay for!!! I also use my credit card for everything to maximise my points, so many good deals I'm spoilt for choice!

    Date used : 02/02/2013
  • Great deal for me
    By cazer06 May 2013aged 55 to 64Female

    Having flown with Virgin a few times to Cuba this is a great deal for me. Already have 48,000 miles, enough for a return flight to Cuba, now converting the points into miles for my husband. Sometimes Tesco have special offers to buy extra miles. Also Virgin do special offers where you need less points to be able to book your flight. Need to check the website regularly for this offer

    Date used : 06/05/2013
  • great for adding miles
    By mallin2102 May 2013aged 55 to 64Female

    This is another brilliant idea, and i now convert all my points to Virgin miles, it really boosts my balance. So I can get that reward flight even sooner. I put all my spending on my Tesco cc, so as they say every little helps and it really does, it is even better when they have the extra bonus miles on.

    Date used : 21/02/2012

Add to basket

Exchange:£2.50 in Clubcard vouchers


Receive:625 Virgin Atlantic Flying Club miles


Important info

• Please see additional information section for full T&C of special offer.

• To collect Flying Club miles, you must already be a member of Virgin Atlantic’s Flying Club programme and will need to provide your membership number at the checkout, in order to complete your order. If you are not a member, why not join today? Simply copy and paste this URL into your browser and follow the online instructions: www.virginatlantic.com/tesco

• If exchanging Clubcard vouchers for Flying Club miles, your order details (including your name and address and Clubcard number) will be passed to Flying Club who will credit these to your account within 28 days.

Full Terms & Conditions apply.

Terms & Conditions

• Flying Club reward flights are subject to the payment of applicable taxes, charges, fees and surcharges. The exact amount will be advised at the time of booking either via Virgin Atlantic’s website or contact centre.

• If exchanging Clubcard vouchers for Flying Club miles, your order details (including your name and address and Clubcard number) will be passed to Flying Club who will apply these to your account within 28 days. Minimum transaction value is £2.50 in Clubcard vouchers. Please choose carefully, once Clubcard vouchers have been converted into Flying Club miles the process cannot be reversed.

• You must exchange your Clubcard vouchers for this product, Clubcard vouchers will not be accepted by the supplier.

• All standard Tesco.com and Clubcard scheme terms and conditions apply, these can be found on the website.

• Unused, expired and redeemed tokens cannot be refunded, exchanged or returned. This does not affect your statutory rights